Scholarships and Prizes

On the assignment of the Government, the LAS organizes the activities of the Lithuanian Commission for Science Prizes; it has established 18 commemorative science prizes; it encourages young scientists and students to engage in scientific research by awarding each year 10 prizes to young scientists and 15 prizes to university students. Since 2010, the Academy has been giving 15 annual grants to young researchers.

The Lithuanian Academy of Sciences established 18 prizes named after famous Lithuanian scientists:
Kazimieras Baršauskas (electronics, electromechanics), Povilas Brazdžiūnas (experimental physics), Kazimieras Būga (linguistics), Juozas Dalinkevičius (geosciences), Simonas Daukantas (history), Tadas Ivanauskas (nature protection), Adolfas Jucys (theoretical physics), Justinas Marcinkevičius (literary), Vincas Krėvė-Mickevičius (literature), Jonas Kriščiūnas (agricultural sciences), Jonas Kubilius (mathematics), Vladas Lašas (medicine), Povilas Matulionis (forestry), Juozas Matulis (chemistry), Albinoas Rimka (economics), Kazimieras Simonavičius (mechanics), Pranciškus Šivickis (biology), Algirdas Žukauskas (heat engineering).
The prizes are awarded every 4 years.

The scientists of the Baltic and other foreign countries who have achieved significant scientific results and contributed greatly to the cooperation between the scientists of this region are awarded the medal that has been established jointly by the Lithuanian, Latvian and Estonian Academies.

In conjunction with the Grotthuss Foundation, the Academy established Theodor Grotthuss Prize as well as a scholarship.

The LAS has also established 10 annual prizes for research of young scientists and 15 prizes for research projects done by university students.

The Division of the Humanities and Social Sciences established Kazimieras Meškauskas Prize for young scientists-economists.

On the occasion of the 60th Anniversary of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences in 2001 the medal of the LAS was established.

In 2007 a Letter of Thanks of the LAS Presidium was established.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.

FacebookTwitterGoogle BookmarksLinkedin